Anstruther Writing Awards 2019

In 2019 the Anstruther Writing Awards ran in partnership with the Scottish Fisheries Museum.  To celebrate the Scottish Fisheries Museum’s 50th anniversary, entries to the Anstruther Writing Awards were invited on the theme of ‘Boats, fish and folk’. A number of entries were selected for inclusion in an anniversary publication that can be bought here.

The results of the Awards are as follows, and you can read the winning entries by clicking on the links


Primary Pupils

 Creative Writing first place: Reuben Scott, The Kingdom of the North Sea

Creative Writing second place: Amelia Fyall, The Mermaid Adventure

Secondary Pupils

Poetry winner: Ben Michie, Goodnight Anstruther

Poetry highly commended: Orla Campbell, Fishing for me,

Lewis Stevenson, Cuan o’ life, Flynn Stevenson, Rain

Short Story winner: Mathilda Orr, The Reaper’s Odyssey

Short Story highly commended: Finlay Miles Lost, Rahima Nazir On A Boat, Jodie Dougall, The Story of How I Lost My Skin


 Short Story joint winners:

Carol Hendry, The Beachcomber, and Elaine Webster, Drift

Short story highly commended: Norman Coburn, Lost in Silver, Dereck Thomson, The House of the Seven Dead Men, Gavin Baird, An Old Man and The Sea

Short story commended: David McVey, British Ocean Radio,                  Loretta Mulholland, The Pact

Poetry winner: Wullie Purcell, Davy

Poetry highly commended: Edith Harper, Awa Tae the Fishin ,              Wendy Orr, Shoring


Our sincere thanks to our judges: Christina Banach, Matt Barnard and Chae Strathie.

We remember with gratitude our adult short story category judge, Jennie Erdal (1951-2020). Jennie supported the AWA over many years and in November 2019, despite ill health, heroically came to our prize giving at the Scottish Fisheries Museum to present the category prizes. We will miss Jennie’s fantastic attitude and enthusiasm.

Building a thriving and resilient community, improving Anstruther for all